2009 Deming Prize

image of the Deming Prize medal

The Union Japanese Scientists and Engineers (JUSE) has awarded Niigata Diamond Electric (Japan) and Siam White Cement Company (Thailand) the Deming prize.

Organizations receiving the Deming Prize since 2000 by country (prior to that almost all winners were from Japan):

Country Prizes
India 15
Thailand 9
Japan 5
Singapore 1

The 2009 Deming Prize for Individuals went to Dr. Hiroshi Osada, Professor, Graduate School of Innovation Management, Tokyo Institute of Technology. Previous recipients include: Kaoru Ishikawa, Genichi Taguchi, Shoichiro Toyoda, Hitoshi Kume and Noriaki Kano.

The 2009 Deming Distinguished Service Award for Dissemination and Promotion went to Gregory H. Watson, Chairman and Managing Partner, Business Excellence Solutions

Related: 2008 Deming Prize: Tata SteelDeming Prize 20072006 Deming Prize2006 Deming Medal presented to Peter R. Scholtes

From the JUSE site:

The Deming Prize is one of the highest awards on TQM (Total Quality Management) in the world. It was established in 1951 in commemoration of the late Dr. William Edwards Deming who contributed greatly to Japan’s proliferation of statistical quality control after the World War II. His teachings helped Japan build its foundation by which the level of Japan’s product quality has been recognized as the highest in the world.

4 thoughts on “2009 Deming Prize

  1. Pingback: Curious Cat Management Improvement Blog » 2010 Deming Prize

  2. Pingback: Deming Prizes for 2011 go to Companies Based in India, Taiwan and Thailand » Curious Cat Management Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *